When a Dimlog file is used by multiple users at the same time, their actions are automatically merged. Dimlog does not require a server process for this. It is all handled by the Dimlog client programs. In principle, all data is editable by all clients. However, when a user chosen in the Main Screen, data will be filtered to show only the data of the selected user.
The following two rules are applied during the merge process:
1. Actions overrule earlier actions
For example: Client A renames a category and saves. Client B renames the same category and saves. As a result, the category will have the name that client B gave it.
2. When an action becomes invalid after synchronisation, it is not executed.
For example: Client A deletes a category and saves. Client B renames the same category and saves. The renaming will not be performed, because the category is already deleted.